117th Congress Events

 

Past Events

 

November 9, 2021 1:00 - 2:10 pm | Remote Zoom Room | Electric Vehicle Battery Materials Production and Recycling: The Emerging Circular Economy

Briefing Overview:

As electric vehicles become more popular, and demand increases for their use, domestic production and recycling of materials for lithium-ion batteries is critical. Aside from their use in electric vehicles, lithium-ion batteries are in great demand for a variety of industrial and specialty uses such as in laptops and cell phones, powering microgrids or wearable devices and in revolutionary new battery systems that support the warfighter in the battlefield.

Electric Vehicle Battery Materials Production and Recycling The Emerging Circular Economy - YouTube

Panel Speakers:

  1. Shane Thompson, President, Retriev/Heritage Battery Recycling: Collecting and Recovering Materials from Lithium-ion batteries and Salvaging the Domestic Supply. 
  2. Aaron Bent, CEO, 6K Inc.: Reducing Dependency on Foreign Sources: Shifting to Domestic Production and Recycling of Battery Materials with an Environmentally Friendly and Sustainable Method.
  3. Joern Tinnemeyer, SVP CTO, Enersys: Domestic Supply Chain: Industrial Battery Manufacturing and Stored Energy Solutions in the United States.

This was a widely attended public event.


May 6, 2021 1:00 - 2:10 pm | Remote Zoom Room | Battery Materials & Technology Coalition

Missing: A North American Battery Supply Chain

Briefing Overview:

The Battery Materials & Technology Coalition (BMTC) held a panel discussion on the need for a North American battery supply chain. Given China’s control of global battery supply chains, with over 100 battery megafactories built or planned, ownership of more critical mineral reserves than any other country, and a stranglehold on the world’s mineral processing industry, the U.S. needs to act swiftly to secure a domestic battery industry.

Link to Briefing Recording

Panel Speakers:

  1. Ben Steinberg, bsteinberg@vennstrategies.com
  2. Andrew (Andy) Miller, amiller@benchmarkminerals.com 
  3. James (Jim) Greenberger, jgreenberger@naatbatt.org
  4. Robbie Diamond, rdiamond@secureenergy.org
  5. Austin Devaney, adevaney@piedmontlithium.com
  6. Paul Lichty, plichty@forgenano.com 

This was a widely attended public event.