114th Congress Events

Advanced Manufacturing

PDF iconProgram.pdf

Dr. Thomas Gardner, Jacobs Mission Solutions

Congressman Tim Ryan

Michel Molnar, NIST

Adele Ratcliff, DoD

Dr. Mark Johnson, DOE

Dr. Pramod Khargonekar, NSF


Additive Manufacturing and 3D Printing (joint with Maker Caucus)

PDF iconProgram.pdf

Dr. Gary Fedder, Vice Provost for Research, Carnegie Mellon University
Congressman Mark Takano, Congressman Tom Reed.
Ed Morris, America Makes Director and NCDMM Vice President
Neal Orringer, Vice President of Alliances and Partnerships, 3D Systems
Christine Furstoss, Global Technology Director, Manufacturing & Materials Technologies, GE

Dr. Jack Beuth, Carnegie Mellon University, Additive Manufacturing for Metals
Dr. Adam Feinberg, Carnegie Mellon University, 3D Bioprinting for Medical Applications
David Woessner, Realizing New Market Potential for Customized Products

Hiring STEM Professionals (joint with STEM Education Caucus)

PDF iconProgram.pdf


The Miscellaneous Tariff Bill Process and HR 4923 – American Manufacturing Competitiveness Act of 2016

PDF iconProgram.pdf


Digital Design and Manufacturing (joint with Maker Caucus)

PDF iconProgram.pdf

Congressman Glen Thompson

Prof. Karen Thole, Penn State University

Dr. Bruce Kramer, NSF

Dr. Dean Bartles, DDMI

Mr. Steven Hooper, Autodesk


Exploring the Nexus of Food and Advanced Manufacturing for American Competitiveness, Food Safety, and Global Security

PDF iconProgram.pdf


Pre-college Engineering Education and Impact on Manufacturing (joint with Maker Caucus)

PDF iconProgram.pdf

Congressman Tim Ryan

Congressman Tom Reed

Dr. Said Jahanmir, ASME Science and Engineering Policy Fellow Office of Congressman Tim Ryan

James Brown, STEM Education Coalition

Prof. Chris Rogers, Tufts University, Center for Engineering Education and Outreach

Prof. Susan Ipri Brown, Hope College, Center for Exploratory Learning

Teresa Sappington, Lamar County Center for Technical Education, Albert Einstein Distinguished Educator Fellow, Office of Congressman Mark Takano


The “Better Way” Tax Proposal: Implications for American Manufacturers

PDF iconProgram.pdf


Advanced Manufacturing Communities: Encouraging Innovation and Building the Advanced Manufacturing Economy of the Future (joint with Maker Caucus)

PDF iconProgram.pdf

J Robert (Bob) Sims, ASME President 2014-2015

Nicholas M. Donofrio, IBM Fellow Emeritus

Prof. Nam P. Suh, Emeritus Professor, MIT

Deborah Wince-Smith, President and CEO of the United States Council on Competitiveness

Prof. Tom Kurfess, Professor of Mechanical Engineering, Georgia Tech

Prof. Steve Schmid, Professor of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, University of Notre Dame


Advanced Biosciences for Manufacturing: Driving Solutions in Energy, Health and the Environment

PDF iconProgram.pdf

Panel Presenations, Part 1

Panel Presentations, Part 2

Introductions: J Robert (Bob) Sims, ASME President 2014-2015

Panel Members:

Mary Maxon, Principal Deputy, Biosciences Area, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
Steve Evans, Fellow, Dow AgroSciences
Rina Singh, Policy Director, Industrial Biotechnology, BIO
Malin Young, Chief Research Officer, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
Anup Singh, Senior Manager of Biological Science and Technology, Sandia National Laboratories


Visit to Northrup Grumman R&D and Manufacturing Facility

Visit to NIST Advanced Manufacturing Research Laboratories

From Making to Manufacturing (Joint with Maker Caucus)

PDF iconProgram.pdf

Moderated by Aaron Grau, Executive Director of the Made Right Here Alliance.

Congressman Tim Ryan

Bernie Lynch, Made Right Here Alliance

Dr. David Cranmer, Deputy Director for the Manufacturing Extension Partnership (MEP) Program office

Michael Hripko, Youngstown State University


  Advanced Gas Turbines: Strengthening U.S. Leadership in Energy & Manufacturing

PDF iconProgram.pdf

Welcome and Introduction
Mike Aller, Executive Director, Consortium for Advanced Production and Engineering of Gas Turbines and Rotating MachineryPDF iconAller.pdf

Overview of U.S. Leadership in Gas Turbine Technologies
Tim Lieuwen, Director, Georgia Tech Strategic Energy InstitutePDF iconLieuwen.pdf
Thomas Prete, Vice President, Engineering, Military Engines, Pratt & Whitney
Kenneth Hall, Director of Technology Integration, Siemens EnergyPDF iconHall.pdf
Karen A. Thole, Professor and Department Head, Department of Mechanical and Nuclear Engineering, Pennsylvania State UniversityPDF iconThole.pdf


Advacned Robotics in Manufacturing: Enabling New Technology and Increased Opportunity

(joint House and Senate Briefing)

Welcome: Keith Roe, ASME President

Senator Chris Coons, Senate Competitiveness Caucus, Co-Chair (D-DE)       

Moderator: Chuck Thorpe, ASME Robotics Public Policy Task Force Co-Chair

Howie Choset, Carnegie Mellon University, Professor of Robotics; Medrobotics, Inc., Co-Founder
Larry Sweet, Georgia Institute of Technology, IRIM Associate Director of Technology Transition and Professor of
the Practice in Robotics
Erik Nieves, PlusOne Robotics, Founder and CEO
Michael Dudzik, IQM, President